Seal of Dane County County of Dane
Dane County Board of Supervisors

Committee Descriptions and Information

Standing Committees of the County Board

The Dane County Board of Supervisors has seven standing committees.  Each of these committees is comprised of County Board Supervisors.  Each Supervisor is appointed to one of six standing committees, and in addition, may be appointed to the Executive Commtitee, which has a member from each of the other six committees.  

Executive Committee
Public Protection and Judiciary Committee
Personnel and Finance Committee
Public Works and Transportation Committee
Environment Agriculture and Natural Resources Commitee
Zoning and Land Regulation Committee
Health and Human Needs Committee

Continuing Committees of the County Board

There are four committees identified as committees of the Board.

City County Liaison Committee

The committee shall concern itself with matters of mutual interest to the City of Madison and the County of Dane, and is charged with overseeing management of the City County Building.  Three supervisors serve on this committee, along with the County Executive, three alders, and the Mayor of the City of Madison.

Land Conservation Committee

The Land Conservation Committee is established pursuant to chapter 92, Wis. Stats., which requires that each county have such a committee.  The committee coordinates all matters relating to agriculture and soil and water use and conservation in the county, including the development of standards and specifications for management practices to control erosion, sedimentation and non-point source water pollution.  The chairperson of the federal Farm Services Agency county committee serves as a public member of this committee.

University Extension Committee

The University Extension Committee functions as the agriculture and extension education committee in accordance with sec. 59.87, Wis. Stats., and within the limits of funding appropriated by the county board, shall have the powers set forth in said statute.  The committee is the oversight committee for the Dane County Fair Association and reviews dog damage claims under chapter 174, Wis. Stats. 

Kassel-Dane Sister County Task Force

The Kassel-Dane Sister County Task Force oversees the sister county partnership with Kassel, Germany.  More information about the task force can be found here.  

Boards, Commissions, and Committees

The County Executive appoints members to boards, committees, and commissions and the County Board approves the appointments.

To apply for one of these boards, committees, or commissions, go here

 Descriptions of many of Dane County’s Boards, Commission, and Committees are available in Chapter 15 of Dane County Ordinance